Board Highlights - September 2018

L-R: Chair Linda Mywaart, Lynn Fleet, Elaine Moore, and Superintendent Doug NichollsL-R: Chair Linda Mywaart, Lynn Fleet, Elaine Moore, and Superintendent Doug Nicholls


Fort McMurray Public School District Board of Trustees

Chair Linda Mywaart, Vice Chair Angela Adams
Trustees: Stephen Drover, Tim O'Hara, Jonathan Lambert, Solange Maher, Dan Rizzuto 

From the September 26, 2018 Board of Trustees Meeting

CAREERS - The Next Generation Presentation
Elaine Read, Regional Director, Northeast Region for CAREERS, was our guest. The group connects education,  industry and government, and is dedicated to career development of Alberta’s youth to build the future skilled workforce. 
FMPSD has partnered with CAREERS Next Generation in many ways, including the Registered Apprenticeship program, dual credit opportunities, and career fairs. CAREERS brings opportunities to our students to give them a start in a future career.

Fort McMurray Marathon Winner acknowledgement                

Marina Francis, Westwood Community High School’s PE teacher was acknowledged for winning the Fort McMurray Marathon recently. She ran it in 3:48:28.

Marina has been with the District for 11 years. She is hoping to run the Edmonton Marathon in August and to qualify for the Boston Marathon in 2020.


Excellence in Teaching Awards

This August we introduced the Excellence in Education Award at our annual staff “Welcome Back” event. This is a yearly honour for long-serving staff (15 years or more), who go aboveand beyond for students, parents, staff and community. This year’s recipients were: Anna Marie Mywaart, Christian School, Elaine Moore, Thickwood Heights School, Stephen Montgomery, and Lynn Fleet both from Composite High School, as well as Benita Greenwood, Westwood Community High School. 

Lynn and Elaine, who are both head secretaries for their schools were not able to attend “Welcome Back,” so the Board acknowledged them at the meeting.

Elaine joined the Fort McMurray Public School District (FMPSD) in 1994. She loves working with children, and says she was surprised and honoured by the award.

Lynn joined FMPSD in 1985. She says she loves every job she’s had in the past 31 years, adding “I always said 'the day that I dread going to work, is the day I need to quit!'”

Photo Above: L-R: Chair Linda Mywaart, Lynn Fleet, Elaine Moore, and Superintendent Doug Nicholls


Next Meeting: October 17, 2018 - 3 p.m.

Post-recess: 6:30 p.m. 

For more information, please contact:
Kiran Malik-Khan
Communications Manager
Follow us on Twitter and Instagram @FMPSD
Like us on Facebook/FMPSD
Visit our website: 
Created by FlashIssue

Mailing address: Fort McMurray Public School District, 231 Hardin St., Fort McMurray,

AB , T9H 2G2.