A Learning community dedicated to educating all students for personal excellence

News Release: École McTavish Administrators Win Distinguished Leadership Awards

Information for Registered Families

Welcome to E-cademy+

Please know that we are all working together to make sure that E-cademy+ is a quality online program for your children. E-cademy+ is NOT the same as at home learning which happened last March-June.  It is much more robust and includes all of the curriculum areas.  It requires parents to be dedicated to making sure students are online daily with their teacher and completing assignments.

Administrators are busy handling two schools (their brick and mortar school as well as E-cademy+).  If you filled out the FMPSD E-cademy+ Interest Form, we are working as fast as we can to get to you. Elementary, Junior High and Senior High all have different requirements, so you may hear from Elementary before you hear from Junior High or Senior High (who are busy staffing and pulling schedules together to meet student needs).

Click on the buttons below and you will find information that was emailed to you.  Sometimes these emails go to your SPAM box, so please check before phoning.


Technology that is required for E-cademy+ is not one specific brand or type.  As long as students have something with a working camera and a microphone such as a laptop, desktop, or Chromebook, then you are good to go!  Students should also have headphones to block out background noise.  

The deadline to register for E-cademy+ is September 10th at 4pm.  The process is to submit your expression of interest HERE, and then patiently wait for a phone call from Division Office followed by sharing of information on next steps.  Students can move back to brick and mortar schools after the first report card if they choose, but we are asking that they remain with E-cademy+ until then.

News Release: École McTavish Administrators Win Distinguished Leadership Awards

Scott Barr (left) and Thomas Andrews Scott Barr (left) and Thomas Andrews

(Fort McMurray, AB, May 2, 2019) Fort McMurray Public School District (FMPSD) congratulates Scott Barr, Principal, and Thomas Andrews, Vice Principal, École McTavish Public High school on winning the Distinguished Leadership Award presented by the Council for School Leadership (CSL) of the Alberta Teachers' Association.

The CSL is “committed to the promotion and advancement of excellent practices in educational leadership. The CSL Distinguished Leadership Awards create a learning community of outstanding principals and assistant principals throughout Alberta who can share professionally, interact collegially and act as mentors to new colleagues.”

Both Barr and Andrews have been long-term FMPSD staffers, and were ecstatic to hear about the award.

'I'm honoured to be recognized by the Council of School Leadership. I have had the pleasure of working with some strong FMPSD leaders over the years; and am thankful for their ability to help develop me as a leader,” noted Barr, who has been with the District for 23 years.

“I am also very thankful to have worked with so many great staff members who have made being in leadership fulfilling and enjoyable - daily. It is even more special to win in the same year as Thomas, who has been both a student of mine, and now a colleague, through my FMPSD career,” Barr continued.

Andrews echoed similar sentiments.

‘It is very humbling to be nominated for this award, even more so to be selected alongside Scott, who I work with daily, and who was actually my teacher (junior high) and coach (high school) growing up. I’ve always put relationships at the forefront of what I feel is integral to leadership. FMPSD has many amazing role models when it comes to leadership, and there are numerous deserving candidates. Therefore, I am truly honoured by this selection,” enthused Andrews.

Doug Nicholls, Superintendent, FMPSD, congratulated both winners.

“Scott and Thomas are leading an incredible team at McTavish. This honour speaks to their dedication and commitment to the school and the District. It is a well-deserved award for both men,” Superintendent Nicholls commented.

Barr and Andrews will receive the awards at a gala event in Edmonton on May 24, 2019.

Congratulations both!

For more information, please contact:

Kiran Malik-Khan

Communications Manager

Fort McMurray Public School District #2833

Cell: 780-880-7666

Work: 780-788-8009